top of page

2023 Board

President 2023

Anne Runge

Past President 2022

Fleming Mattox

President Elect

Position Available


Jill Van Horn


Susan Owens

3 year 


Lizanne Melton

2 year


Amanda Leevan

3 year

Master Craftsman Beekeeper

David MacFawn

EAS Master Certified Beekeeper

Larry Coble

Master Beekeepers

Staci Siler

Rosalind Severt

Journeymen Beekeepers

Neal Taylor

Phil Rabon

Bob Shealy

Ruchelle Gee

Phil Gee

Fleming Mattox

David Gobbel

Kathy Carpineto

Sheryl Brousseau

Glenn Severt

Todd Shealy

Mark Hardenbrook

John Oxner

Preston Wessinger

Anne Runge

Life Members

Frank Blanchard

Jack Morris

Shirley Ward

About Mid-State Beekeepers Association

 Mid-State Beekeepers Association (MSBA) is dedicated to advancing the art of beekeeping and assisting the people who pursue this noble and worthwhile venture.

The purpose of the MSBA is to promote interest in honey bees and beekeeping

by encouraging healthy beekeeping practices in South Carolina,

promote the utilization of honey bees for pollination of agricultural crops,

and disseminate useful information about honey bees and beekeeping.

We meet the first Tuesday every month at 6:30pm

Platt Springs United Methodist Church

3215 Platt Springs Road, West Columbia 

Please join us here: Mid-State Beekeeper's Association - New MSBA Landing Page

Individual Annual Membership $10 // Family Annual Membership $15

Organization Disciplines

Fellowship Amenities:


Sign In / Registration:

Jill Van Horn

Community Outreach:

Kevin Cullis

Certified Course:

Todd Shealy

FB Page and Groups:

Several Administrators

Association Extractor:

Neal Taylor

AV Quartermaster:

Jill Van Horn

Website & Newsletter Editor:

Jill Van Horn

Swarm Calls:

David Gobbel

January's guest speakers, Duane Black and Lizanne Melton, demonstrated how to build frames and a swarm trap.  Above, a member inserts hardware to wire a frame. 

bottom of page