top of page

Learning About Honey Bees

Life Cycle of the Honey Bee

The life stages of a honeybee are egg, larva, pupa and adult. Development from egg to adult takes 21 days. The length of these stages is set out in the attached table.

Honey Bee Caste

There are three kinds of honey bees that you will find living inside a beehive - the Queen, the Worker and the Drone. Honey bees are highly specialized. A hive needs each of the hive members to perform their job well, or the hive will not prosper. They must work as a unit and be willing to sacrifice themselves if need be to keep the hive alive and thriving.

bottom of page